The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone I’m looking at this Luger. Kinda a trade with a guy I know. But I have no knowledge of this weapon and from what I gather you can really get in upside down on one fast. Definitely if you don’t know what to look for. So I’m just asking for advise and thoughts on value and history of the pistol. It is in 30 Luger and all the serial numbers match except on the mag. At least as far as I can see. I do know what he paid for it at a local shop. But that means not much to me if the value is not there.
4AEED2FE-35E5-4699-A3CA-D49D6F5F255B.jpeg
E7E7AB83-85CF-4880-8383-9A0A5D8780D1.jpeg
9AC870C5-C9A9-498B-ABBD-1936C8DB2924.jpeg
FC1A842B-3846-436C-A36E-998532735BFC.jpeg

·
Registered
3 Posts
You've got money there if all your SYMBOLS are in the right place have you checked on the inside of the slide down where you pull the hammer back do your research what's the date

·
Registered
8,046 Posts
More guessing here than anything else, but your Luger seems to be one of the 'after War' Lugers produced for the commercial (civilian) market. Two reasons why I say this are the chambering - .30 Luger - and that there is no date stamp on the top of the receiver bridge. Looks like a very old re-blue. The .30 Luger was never meant for issue to the German military - just for civilian and export sales.

The .30 Luger is a great caliber. It delivers high velocity. Commercial ammunition may be hard to find - even harder to find these days of "Dopey". Reloading dies and bullets are available, as well as brass cartridge cases. The bullets are the same as used for the 7.62 Tokarov (about 93 grain .3085 diameter). Sierra Bullets makes them in a soft point version.