The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK this might sound a bit off the wall here but I'm still new in a lot of ways to shooting. I've been reading up on doing reloads and making your own new loads, and this is somewhat related.

Looking around at the scarcity and price of ammo today: I have plenty of 9mm fmj, but JHP seems extremely scarce and expensive even for the current market. I have seen lots of nice JHP bullets available though, and I'm wondering is it possible (I'm fairly sure it's possible) or desirable as a cheap shortcut to remove the pointy point and replace it with a hollow point on an otherwise intact and functional cartridge. Would it be too hazardous? What die sets would you need? What other thoughts here? Thanks much!

PS -- if it really is just an incredibly stupid idea just go ahead and say so!

·
Premium Member
3,213 Posts
Pulling the projectile means that you have to pour the powder someplace, then put the primed case back in the press, to the powder charge die, this bells the mouth and drops the powder, next to seat the bullet and finally crimp. Seems to me to be a lot of work when you can load JHP initially. Powder charge may be different from FMJ to JHP. I frequently pull bullets, but because of a blunder of some sort. Yes, I can save the case, and if I know what powder is in the case, even save the powder. Usually, I pour the powder on my Hydrangeas.

I see no reason to do it..but I have a few thousand spp in stock and even have a few hundred JHP projectiles. I don't shoot a lot of hp's in my 9's.

·
Premium Member
9,919 Posts