The Firearms Forum banner

Forhand & Wadsworth Double Action .32 very good condition

7K views 15 replies 7 participants last post by  Twaits 
#1 · (Edited)
#6 ·
I'm not an expert in much of anything and don't know for sure, but I don't think chrome was offered in any guns in 1877. In my opinion, the collectors value would be pretty close to nothing with the bright shiny chrome plating, but then, I have been wrong before.

#8 ·
High polish maybe?

#10 ·
It's neither chrome nor highly polished, it's nickel plated and for its age in remarkable condition. I doubt it's seen much use as the old nickel on the cheap revolvers was notorious for flaking off. Date and value I have no idea.

#11 · (Edited)
I saw you posted this in the firearms talk forum as well. I will also reply here.
These guns in really good original condition will usually go for $200-$300, that's in REALLY good condition. Worn examples will usually fetch less than $200. Unfortunately yours suffers from a very badly over buffed refinish and re-nickel. I'd say its worth in the $85-$125 range. These types of Forehand and Wadsworth revolvers were almost always nickel plated.
I had this one that I bought a few years back for $90 on *********. I think when I relisted it I got somewhere around $200 for it. This one was a 5 shot .38

(note also that the hammer and trigger are case hardened. They were never nickel plated originally, that's another red flag for a refinish on your gun)

#12 · (Edited)
EDIT: I see the last part now, and looking back at the gun a little more, I see what you mean. It's a damn shame someone would do such a thing to a piece of history. Thank you for the response and ignore my previous response below, thank you.