Good trigger for m4

Discussion in 'Technical Questions & Information' started by mjforster, Apr 23, 2009.

1. mjforster

mjforster New Member

I have a bushmaster m4. I would like to get a better trigger. Im wondering if this is something I can order and install myself or is it something I have to send in to have installed. I have seen drop in triggers online. I would assume that means I could install it myself. Any info would be great. Does anyone have any suggestions on a good trigger? Thanks

2. LDBennett

LDBennett Well-Known Member

Timney and others make drop in trigger modules for the AR15 platform. They indeed are drop-in.

For less money you can also get trigger parts that replace the stock items that can reduce the trigger pull and reduce the creep after they are adjusted properly. Sometimes that adjustment process can be tricky if you are after the adjustment to give the lightest and most creep free trigger. Get it wrong and the gun can double (don't ask how I know that!). There are also component parts available as a set that require no adjustment but you can't get the perfect trigger from them but it will be better than stock. Brownells sell all those items and even has a catalog just for AR parts and pieces. They sell to the public even though their biggest customers are gunsmiths and want-to-be gunsmiths (like me).

http://www.brownells.com/aspx/NS/store/catsearch.aspx?k=AR trigger&ps=10&si=True

http://www.timneytriggers.com/sunshop/catalog/AR-15-Competition-7.html

Be careful to measure trigger parts retaining pin sizes as there are two (late Colts have bigger pins, I believe, while most other receivers use the Mil-Spec size).

LDBennett

3. USMCSpeedy

USMCSpeedy Member

4. mjforster

mjforster New Member