The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I have been gaining more interest in hand guns and own 2- PK 380's and a Beretta PX 4 Storm and others but these are the rounds I will be mainly using. I placed an order with Dillon for a Square Deal B set up with .380 and .40 dies. I am brand new to reloading, some say this press is overkill for me being brand new to reloading, I say why buy something I will more than likely out grow in a short time. I also ordered a Lyman reloading guide to read and re-read before I even get started. What tips would you give a guy who is brand new to reloading? I plan on making a secure work station and putting it in a room in our basement. I am planning to join a local shooting club and hopefully going at least 2 weekends/month. With the 2 PK's, I'm guessing we would be going through roughly 500 rounds /month if not more, thats the reason for the progressive press. Lastly, anyone know where I might find small pistol primer's? Thanks in advance and look forward to talking.

·
Registered
1,325 Posts
It sounds you are on a good course, the Lyman manual will get you going in a safe, sensible manner. Good call on the press. Small primers are wiped out everywhere so maybe frequent local shops and you'll see some show up. Reloading 380 is going to payoff quickly, 380 is terribly expensive for such a tiny cartrige, second only to .25. I see this is your first post; welcome!

·
Super Moderator
41,364 Posts
Welcome to The Firearms Forum 380guy. I agree with 312, you are headed in the right direction and the square deal was a really good choice, first pres or not. My local gun shop had tons of every kind of primers last week, but that's not helping you much unless you live here in North Georgia

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #5