The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey folks. I sure hope someone can help me with the identification of this gun. The ONLY markings that I can find is the serial number which is on the bottom of the trigger guard, under the Left Grip on the frame and above the cylinder when you take the cylinder off (not sure what that part is called). The numbers are all the same and it is 80453. The barrel is 2 inches long. It is a 5 shot, it is a break at the top. it has wood grips with no markings, It has an auto eject from the cylinder when it opens and there is not a manual eject other than turn the gun over and knock them out. I believe it is a .38 short, but I am no expert on those. A .38 special fits the diameter of the hole but because of the lip inside the each hole in the cylinder, it wont go all the way in and i it did it would be to long. 9MM fits but is to short. I have added pictures and have more or could take pictures of something specific if need be. Goes with out saying it has some age to it my father in law had it for at least 35 years. Not sure where he got it as we didn't find it again until after he passed. We dont intend to shoot it as the cylinder has quite a bit of play in it and I believe it would be unsafe. My wife would like to put it in a shadow box and I would like to be able to put a label with it. I have searched high and low and come up with some close matches but because it has no markings I am lost. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thx Jeff

Attachments

·
Registered
4,727 Posts
Looks to be an Iver Johnson chambered in .38 S&W that has been cleaned up on a wire wheel and has homemade grips.

·
Registered
3,504 Posts
Can it be a .38-200? I have been seeing that caliber in some magazines pertaining to old guns.

·
Registered
3,633 Posts