Holographic Sights (for Rifle)

Discussion in 'General Firearms Discussion' started by Common Sense, Jul 17, 2020.

1. Common Sense

Common Sense Member

Just curious what your favorite holographic (or red dot!) sights are.

What would you guys & gals recommend for a CQB / mid-range setup for an AR or AK?

I've been looking at the Eotech XPS 3.0 (and the 2.0) and they seem to be great for short/mid-range shooting. Anyone have experience with it? I don't see a ton of difference between the XPS and EXPS, or am I missing something?

A gun dealer recommended Meprolight (?) but I have no knowledge of them. Read some decent reviews of them, but several said the reticle was too dim for bright-day shooting.

Edit: if I posted this in the wrong forum, my apologies. Stupid new guy here. :D

drymag likes this.
  2. gdmoody

gdmoody Full Time Moderator Moderator Supporting Member

It may be in the wrong forum BUT you are asking the pros, so I will leave it for now!!

I have an EOTech on one of my AR's and I like it, I put one of those 5 power magnifiers in front of it and it made it even better. I think mine is the XPS2. For the same cost you can buy two of the SIG Romeo5 red dot sights, which is what I did when I wanted another red-dot, and I like the SIGs a whole lot better than the EOTech.

drymag, ms6852, shootbrownelk and 3 others like this.

3. Common Sense

Common Sense Member

Others mentioned the Sig's as well, but I haven't come across any with a large, open-like sight similar to the Eotech's xps2 or 3 - do you know of a specific one?

I have to admit that I'm not knowledgeable on optics - I know the basics and that's it. :/

drymag and shootbrownelk like this.
  4. SilasW

SilasW Well-Known Member

I have an EOTech on a LR in .308, it works fine for me. Looking at the SIGs also.

drymag and Common Sense like this.
  5. gdmoody

6. Pawpaw40

Pawpaw40 Well-Known Member