The Firearms Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Do you need to trim brass with Hornady FTX Bullets 458 Caliber (458 Diameter) when using in .45-70 or other single shot rifles/bolt/double ? I have little if no experience with this bullet. But found some 325g and thunking if the brass trim is related only to lever action function or has it something to do with ojive etc etc.. ..I see no reason these should not work in SS rifles without trimming or crimping on the bullet groove. That's what I think, but have been known to be wrong once or twice.:ROFLMAO: Thanks.

·
Premium Member
407 Posts
I shot 140 grain out of my .357 pistol without timing.
I also heard it was about the ogive.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I put the question to Hornady also, but no idea when I'll hear back.. I ordered a box just now so guess I'll find out..I hate to trim normal brass, but got about 50 nickel plated I can use if I have to..Interesting responses to another question was the trim was only necessary for 1st round chamber from magazine. I don't exactly believe that, but guess I'll find out as I've also an 1895 Marlin..Enjoy learning more about reloading..and keeps me off the streets and out of the bars.😖🤣🤣🤣

·
Super Moderator
46,419 Posts
I put the question to Hornady also, but no idea when I'll hear back.. I ordered a box just now so guess I'll find out..I hate to trim normal brass, but got about 50 nickel plated I can use if I have to..Interesting responses to another question was the trim was only necessary for 1st round chamber from magazine. I don't exactly believe that, but guess I'll find out as I've also an 1895 Marlin..Enjoy learning more about reloading..and keeps me off the streets and out of the bars.😖🤣🤣🤣
According to the Hornady #10 manual, when loading a 325 grain FTX bullet in 45/70, the trim length is 2.040. It doesn't specify any certain type of action, it just say to trim.

·
Registered
41 Posts