Hornady Great Plains 385 Grain

Discussion in 'Black Powder Shooting / Muzzleloaders / Handguns' started by Broot, Dec 19, 2015.

1. Broot

Broot Well-Known Mumbler Supporting Member

Hello everyone,

I am just getting into muzzleloading (besides a little 50 cal cannon I made). I'll be shooting Hodgdon Triple Seven powder and Hornady Great Plains bullets, for now. Anyway, my real question: What is the ballistic coefficient and approximate velocity of those bullets (I'll likely be experimenting with loads between 90 and 120 grains)? I've been searching online the last few days and haven't seen much. I hunt the open fields of Iowa, so I need to figure drop and windage. Also, is 100 yards a good sight in distance?

Thank you!

Last edited: Dec 19, 2015
  2. slayer

slayer Well-Known Member

I was getting under 1,800fps with a 300gr SST when I used pyrodex. I would guess you would be under that a bit. If you plan on shooting over 150 yards you'll want to be high at 100. There's ballistics info here http://m.hornady.com/hits/calculator to be exact you'll have to run your load over a chronograph. Also, if you're hunting with an inline you may want to take a look at blackhorn 209 powder. It's a little expensive but it blows all of the other bp substitutes out of the water.

Broot likes this.

3. Broot

Thanks for the info. What exactly (other type of game) am I looking for on the hits calculator? I am looking to hunt whitetail up to 200 yards, maybe 250 max.. After that, I wouldn't expect the lead slug to be accurate enough. It's an inline with a scope, so I was hoping to find an approximate drop chart so I can dial in the scope for different distances.

Thanks again for the help...

4. slayer

slayer Well-Known Member