Hornady loader needs help with .223 Double feeds

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Denverloader71, Sep 3, 2018.

1. Denverloader71

Denverloader71 New Member

Need help with a problem I'm having with my reloaded .223 causing double feeds. I also tested factory Federal 55gr ammo and had NO PROBLEMS. I just replaced my extractor in the bolt so that shouldn't be the problem and again no problems with factory ammo. I'm kinda new to reloading on my LnL progressive from Hornady.

Any ideas on what I'm potentially doing wrong with my brass prep or reloading? The first few shots go ok but then I get a double feed. Brass is not ejecting correctly. Remember: No problem ejecting and feeding factory brass AND I just replaced my extractor in the bolt.

Step 1: Clean/Tumble
    Step 2: Lube and Deprime/Resize with Hornady Die
    Step 3: Measure and Trim
    Step 4 : Swage (with Hornady Swage Die) and Clean Primer Pocket
    Steps 5-7: Prime, Drop Powder, Seat Bullet (Hornady Dies)

2. gdmoody

gdmoody Full Time Moderator Moderator Supporting Member

Don't really know what could cause it. What is the over all length of your reloads?

3. vassago

vassago Well-Known Member

What charge and what bullet are you using?
    If at the low end of the loading table you could try upping the charge a bit and see if that helps.

shootbrownelk likes this.
  4. Firedog

Firedog Well-Known Member Supporting Member

VT, Just under the Nostril of the Witches Nose
    Sounds like your shooting a AR of some type. What you are saying it is picking up 2 new rounds out of magazine and trying to load both?

Powder charge? Like Vassego to light of charge. I check my charges every 6 or so and twice. Once on beam scale once on digital. My LNL seems to throw pretty darn accurate loads but I still check.