Identification Help

Discussion in 'Black Powder Shooting / Muzzleloaders / Handguns' started by Jaxson Boyd, Aug 15, 2017.

1. Jaxson Boyd

Jaxson Boyd New Member

Hello all. The name is Jaxson from St. Johns, Newfoundland. I'm new to the whole 'old firearms' thing. Recently, I found this little gem at an antique shop and I've been having trouble trying to identify it.

Here is what I know about it at this time.

Markings include a number on the side of the rifle near the cocking handle(?). The marking is 859 (Photo Below). The next markings are on the barrel. They might be a makers marking or something. I'm not sure. Above that, there is the word 'London'.

I know that is a percussion cap, not a flintlock system. Conversions seem pretty common from what I have seen, so it could be converted.

The barrel length from beginning to end is 40 inches. Overall length is 55 inches maybe. I'm checking with a small ruler. Its all I have at this time. The wood extends from the stock to about 10 inches down the barrel.

Somebody said that it may be a percussion shotgun too. Could be this instead of a musket.

if there are any questions, feel free to ask them. I will attach what photos I have to the post. If you guys want any more, feel free to ask for them. musket 1.jpg musket 2.jpg musket 3.jpg musket 4.jpg musket 5.jpg

2. sharps4590

sharps4590 Well-Known Member

Where's Griz? I think he's going to need a better picture of the firearm in its entirety and any proof marks if you can find any.

That big dip in the lock just beneath the snail makes me think the lock was originally flint. The trigger guard and hammer look military to me. It appears to me to be put together from a few different guns but coming from me, take that with a grain of salt.

Oh, and welcome to the forum!!! Good place to be!

joe45c likes this.

3. Grizzley1

Grizzley1 Well-Known Member