The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to reloading, i was told H110 is a good powder for .357 magnum, my Hornady book has a minimum load of 17.4 gr with a 125 gr Bullet a Max charge of 19.9. on Hodgdons site they show a Mimimum charge of 21 gr at close to 1900 fps i dont know what bbl length that is out of but that sounds way fast,ive also heard it is Dangerous to download H110 should i ignore the Hornady chart?and use Hodgdons? i am confused! Please Help.

·
Registered
603 Posts
I think you are just fine at the lower loading referenced by the Hornady manual as a starting load. H110 (and 296) carry a warning about under loading and creating a squib load with a detonation hazard. The powder charge listed as minimum should be just fine. Personally I would be surprised if you will even be able to get 21 gr. in the case. Just work up your load watching for pressure signs as you go. I would advise that you don't use a lead bullet; stick with jacketed when using this powder.

·
Registered
17,299 Posts
If there is any type of contradictions, I prefer to stay with the powder-maker's chart.

Many years ago, I had a Winchester pamphlet giving load data for 357 using 296 powder. They said, "Use exactly as listed. Do not go under or over that data". They said that 296 was dangerous, unless it was loaded JUST LIKE THAT.

WW296 and H110 is the Exact Same Powder. Made by the same company, in the same powder plant, and put into two different bottles.

So, if you should not deviate from the data for 296, because it is dangerous to do so, then you should also not deviate from 110, because it should also be dangerous to do so.

I've noticed, though, that the load that Hodgdon's site lists for 357, 125 JHP, using WW296 is not only NOT THE SAME LOAD that Winchester used to list (18.5 grains), but that Hodgdon gives both a starting and a Max load (21.0 to 22.0).

That's very confusing.

Not a lot of help, was I?