The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
1,172 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
22 year old moving out and into a town house with my girlfriend, I am considering a pistol for home protection. I have limited experience with handguns, mostly .22LR pistols, and shot a 9mm and .45 a few times. I was surprised with the recoil on the 45, it wasn't nearly as bad as I thought it was going to be..

Anyways, what are some of the cheapest, more reliable centerfire pistols you guys would suggest? I'd like to keep it in a quick-access biometric safe. Not 100% certain on caliber either...

I like the Ruger P95.

·
Registered
2,171 Posts
Find a licensed FFL gun shop. Ask for a NRA certified instructor. Take a gun safety class. Ask about a gun range that will rent you some different guns for you to try. Find the one that best fits you (grip, sighting, control etc) and buy it.

If this seems like too much effort, go buy a Desert Eagle and Good Luck!

·
Premium Member
3,862 Posts
the Ruger is a good choice..but how much experience does your girlfriend have with pistols? how experienced are you? in a panic situtation a person who usually only shoots 1-2 times a year will miss 7 out of 10 shots with a semi-automatice pistol and 5 out of 6 shots with a revolver....consiter a shot gun...same person hits almost 100% of the time..add to that the average reaction of a perp to a shotgun fireing.99% turn tail and run..Pistol..50% they know the odds too...just saying....

·
Premium Member
34,532 Posts
I am going to suggest that you follow hunter's suggestion. A shotgun is a much better home defense tool than a pistol. It takes a lot less learning to be able to use it, and it gets the job done better. If it is to be a gun that you and your SO will both be using, go with a 20 gauge. A pistol, in the hands of a competent shooter still isn't as good as a shotgun, IMHO.

·
Registered
538 Posts