The Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Good afternoon everyone.

I recently inherited this rifle from my dad and its been passed down from son to son since my family first landed in South Africa from Germany to help in the Anglo War as Doctors.

Unfortunately I was not blessed enough to have a son to pass this onto, hence me wanting to speak to you guys to please help me in figuring out a value on the rifle and the original bullets. I'm truly sorry if there are things I'm missing on and hope that one or many of you can help direct me as I'm no gun expert.

Stay blessed,

Justin Ortlepp

Wood Air gun Trigger Shotgun Gun accessory

Musical instrument Hand tool Wood Wind instrument Metal

Wood Natural material Musical instrument Metal Artifact

Brown Wood Rectangle Tints and shades Automotive exterior

Wood Twig Shotgun Metal Wire

Air gun Wood Trigger Shotgun Gun barrel

Outerwear Wood Human leg Metal Art

·
Premium Member
15,985 Posts
Justin, (by the way, that is my youngest son's name), I hope I don't burst your bubble but that model rifle was not manufactured until 1903 so, it hasn't been passed down for 2 centuries. I suspect you know that but, I just wanted point it out.

Ok, here's what you need to do. Remove the barreled action from the stock and post pictures of the proof marks that will be on the bottom of the barrel, in front of the action. Also take a picture of the tip of the fore end so we can tell if the rifle was made with that stock or was originally a stutzen stock. Without those all I can tell you is what you probably already know; it's a 1903 Mannlicher/Schoenauer in 6.5 X 54 M/S cartridge.

That cocking piece aperture sight is worth at least 1/3 as much as the rifle.

Reactions: soonerfan66

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·