Is this something I should be concerned with?

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by 2fish, Jan 11, 2017.

1. 2fish

2fish Well-Known Member

As you know, I am very new to reloading and am still quite nervous. The image below shows a split case on a 9mm that I had reloaded.

The once fired Federal case was loaded with 147 grain RMR cprn with 3.4 grains of Unique and CCI primer with a COL of 1.135. Of the 100 I fired, there is only 1 example of this. Could this be a fluke, or am I expanding the case mouth too little/much, or odd piece of brass? Or something else? Hopefully not serious as I have 300 more of these loaded for Friday night. Thanks in advance.
    [​IMG]

drymag and Kweeksdraw like this.
  2. gdmoody

gdmoody Moderator Supporting Member

In my opinion, that split has nothing to do with the amount of flare you put on the mouth. I would venture to say that that particular "once fired" case has been fired multiple times for it to split like that. Especially if it was the only one out of a hundred.

3. soundguy

soundguy Well-Known Member

Agreed, looks like a burn thru fissure, not a mouth split

Kody24, mikld, m77user and 3 others like this.
  4. 2fish

2fish Well-Known Member

Thank you. I generally have only shot factory loads to this point and always police my brass, perhaps I picked up a leftover from someone else.

5. soundguy

Looks slightly ballooned.. What we this fired from?

drymag likes this.
  6. 2fish

2fish Well-Known Member

RIA 1911

drymag likes this.
  7. howlnmad

howlnmad Well-Known Member Supporting Member

It's either a fluke or you picked up a piece of odd brass. I wouldn't get overly stressed about it.
    Curious though, where did you get the load data?

8. Don Fischer

Don Fischer Well-Known Member

That case bulged from the mouth back? Sorta looks like it.

drymag likes this.
  9. FreedomAndForgiven

FreedomAndForgiven Well-Known Member