The Firearms Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good day all. Looking to purchase the following pistol at a local auction. The auction listing states there is no known make on it. Truly the listing provides little information. Wondering if any of you fine folk might know what it is and any estimate what it might be worth. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Looks like a Tranter-type gun.
The engraving style is also English.
While it may be Belgian, it's finely made and decorated.
Yes, looking at the pics seems like you are on the right track. Man I joined this forum to try to find the value of a few muskets I bought and I’ve ended up falling in love with these things. I live in communist Canada and even though I’m a cop I can’t possess really anything besides my service weapons. Then I realized I can buy anything pre 1896 without any type of licence and, much to my wife’s chagrin, I’m hooked!

·
Registered
119 Posts
Yes, looking at the pics seems like you are on the right track. Man I joined this forum to try to find the value of a few muskets I bought and I’ve ended up falling in love with these things. I live in communist Canada and even though I’m a cop I can’t possess really anything besides my service weapons. Then I realized I can buy anything pre 1896 without any type of licence and, much to my wife’s chagrin, I’m hooked!
You're a cop? I'm an ex MP. FYI, the cut-off date is 1898 not 1896. I have a S&W Mod.3 Navy in .44 Russian made in 1881 that I reload for so I can have a legal carry when I'm doing wilderness work. Besides the cut-off date, the pistol must be in a calibre that is on the RCMP's list of "obsolete" calibres, but I assume you know that.

·
Registered
268 Posts