The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently acquired a SAA (Cimarron-Arms/Uberti Evil Roy) w/a 5 1/2" barrel and am looking for suggestions -based upon your actual experience- on low recoil/cowboy loads using components that I already have. I have extensive reloading experience with other calibers in both handgun & rifle, just not with the 45 long colt.

The bullets that I have on hand (thanks to a friend) are Oregon Trail Laser-Cut lead 250 RNFP and 255 SWC.

Primers will be Remington (not magnum) or can be WLP's.

Powders available include Bullseye, AA#5, True Blue, Silhouette and Zip.

My priorities are as follows:
  1. Accurate to 25 yards
  2. Minimal recoil
  3. Good case fill volume (if possible)
  4. Minimal chance of a problem due to a squib or pressure spike

I fully expect the load to be fairly dirty due to low pressure and am not concerned about clean-up.

Your expertise and experience will be most appreciated!

·
Premium Member
13,738 Posts
I've loaded thousands upon thousands of 45 Colt but never reduced loads. Of the powders you have I would suspect maybe Bullseye or AA#5, neither of which will give you remotely good case fill in a reduced load. Accuracy, can't know til you try one of them. Bullseye does ok in my 44 Spl. but other powders do a lot better. I am completely ignorant of the other two powders. Were I wanting to do what you are I'd get a bottle of Trail Boss and be done with it, that's what it was developed for. It's a slam dunk recipe and usually pretty accurate. Either bullet will be fine.

·
Premium Member
3,862 Posts
have to second sharps4590 advise. Trailboss is about all I use for my 45 colt loads.

·
Registered
535 Posts
Try 5.4-6.0/Bullseye/250 RNFP or 255LSWC. This data is right in the middle of the recommended loading range from an old manual I've used & trusted for decades.