The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! I am brand new to reloading and to this forum. My very first endeavor with my new RCBS single stage press is the 45ACP. I am using new brass and an RCBS Carbide 3 die set. I also have the Lyman Max Cartridge Gauge as I thought it would be a good idea to check my work before taking my ammo to the range. After resizing, the case drops perfectly in and is not above the maximum or below the minimum headspace indicators on the gauge. After expansion (not too much), primer, powder, and seating and crimping, a recheck in the gauge shows some of the loaded cartridges to be just a hair above the maximum headspace indicator. The cartridge drops right in and falls right out like before but when fully in, sticks out just a bit (I mean like a couple thousandths). According to the included lyman instructions, it says the headspace indicators are to be used when checking resized cases and does not mention it in instructions for checking loaded cases which I found to be odd. Is this small amount enough to be concerned with? As long as the loaded cartridges slip in and out without "sticking" am I ok? Also- in checking factory loaded cartridges, they do not stick out the little bit that my handloaded ones do. I have made about 10 cartridges so far and 3 of them were good and the other 7 stick out a bit. I am using 230gr Berry's plated bullets and setting the taper crimp on the seat die to hand tight only. My next option was to get the Lee Factory Crimp die and see if that would make a difference since it says it also resizes a case when crimping. I would really like to avoid the expense of another item for each caliber in my reloading endeavor. Does anyone have any advice on what I might be doing wrong or am I just being overly concerned?

Thanks in advance for any replies.

·
Super Moderator
41,332 Posts