The Firearms Forum banner

Will these bullets (details below) be safe in a bolt-action rifle? (.243WIN: Magnum Primers CCI#250)

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, I am new to reloading, and I wanted some insight on a mistake I made.
I loaded a batch of .243 Winchester with:
41.0 gr of IMR 4831
Hornady 100 gr BTSP
Winchester Brass (new)

But I accidentally loaded them with magnum primers (CCI #250). (I'm stupid, I know.)

Will these be safe to use in a bolt-action rifle? Or do I need to scrap them?

Thanks.

·
Super Moderator
39,085 Posts
I do not load .243, but my humble opinion is pull them down. With 41.0 grains of 4831 being pretty close to max load according to the Hornady # 10 manual. Then you add a Magnum primer and you are not going to know what kind of pressure you are going to get. If you had used the minimum powder load, then I would have probably had a different answer.

·
Junior Advanced Senior Member In Training
7,305 Posts
It states in the newest Hornady manual: "Under no circumstances should one switch to a magnum primer with a load developed with standard primer."

If it was mine, I'd pull the bullets and reload 'em. Primers and powder are cheap. Mind you I do play things by the book, especially when it come to my or others safety. I am anal about it, but I still have all my fingers and eyes...

·
Registered
374 Posts
I do not load .243, but my humble opinion is pull them down. With 41.0 grains of 4831 being pretty close to max load according to the Hornady # 10 manual. Then you add a Magnum primer and you are not going to know what kind of pressure you are going to get. If you had used the minimum powder load, then I would have probably had a different answer.