Marlin model 60 Quirks

Discussion in '.22-Rimfire Forum' started by M4Eagle, Sep 18, 2014.

1. M4Eagle

M4Eagle Member

I've owned numerous firearms of many many calibers including a lot of 22 LR.. But I decided I wanted a classic Marlin 60 after going decades with just Ruger.
    I am by no means a gun novice, so when I had major difficulty reassembling the Marlin after cleaning I was unhappy but challenged.
    The mod 60 recoil rod n spring are a bear to get in properly without kinking the spring or repeating operation many times to get charging handle to seat n function properly.

Once last week when I managed to kink the spring I was able to carefully n slowly reshape it with small needle nose pliers. The Model 60 is a challenge to my gun knowledge and patience..... So why do I still love it.
    Gee I guess because it came out in 1960.... A VERY good year in America. Lol

Rocketman1 and todd51 like this.
  2. todd51

todd51 Well-Known Member Supporting Member

Welcome Eagle. You aren't the first nor will you be the last to kink that Marlin spring. A few years back there was a lot of discussion here on the forum pertaining a new shooter and her new Marlin 60 that one of the members had given to her. I had never had one of the Marlins but happened to be in the local gun shop perusing the used gun offering when I saw this nice little Marlin 60 (not as old as yours) for only $120 and I fell to the temptation a brought it home and put a low cost scope I had in a drawer. Sweet little shooter and the next trip to the range we were shooting paint balls glued to cardboard at 50 yards. Not a hit every time but they were all close enough to bring on smiles. So far I have not kinked the spring but there is always the next time I tear it down, ha. DSCF0005.JPG DSCF0005-001.JPG

3. joe45c

joe45c Well-Known Member