Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
20180306_094521.jpg
20180306_094508.jpg
20180305_220101.jpg
20180305_220056.jpg
20180305_172325.jpg
20180305_172314.jpg
20180305_172305.jpg
I picked up a #18 today with patent dates of 1890, 1892, 1904. The serial number is 8131. The production dates I've found on the internet are 1906-1909 which doesn't match up with the date on the gun. Also the serial number puts it at 1884. I'm far from an expert, so my research could be off. Is there anyone that can point me in the right direction as to a correct age of the gun? I'm not really looking for a value, its "farm fresh" and is going to need a great deal of work. My little boy is really into cowboys at the moment, so I plan on fixing it up for him. Any information would be greatly appreciated.

·
Banned
2,004 Posts
All I could find said it was made from 1907 to 1908 in a quantity of about 15,500. Marlin serial numbers are a mess to figure out. Once it is ready to shoot do not use High velocity ammunition. The bolts in these have a weak spot. The gun looks like it can be brought back to life.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Great! That's the date range I came up with, but the dates on the gun and the serial number had me puzzled. I'm going to redo the stock in black walnut and I've got some internal parts ordered. I'm pretty sure that last "gunsmith" used the biggest hammer he could find to try and force the stock back on after he "fixed" the trigger spring. It has the .22 short carrier, and I think I'm going to leave it in place. Thank you again for the information.

·
Premium Member
11,675 Posts