Medics in Vietnam

Discussion in 'Vietnam Memories Forum' started by Guest, Mar 6, 2003.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

oneknight
    (5/7/01 10:43:42 pm)
    | Del All Medics in Vietnam
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    What type of formal training did Medics have prior to
    going to Vietnam?

homer4
    (5/8/01 1:28:16 pm)
    | Del Re: Medics in Vietnam
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I have know idea...but I'm willing to bet that some of there official training was probably modified for the type of combat situations that were unique to the Nam. "Adaptation to the situation" has a familiar ring to it.
    ...and two hard boiled eggs.

dap22
    Senior Chief Moderator II
    (5/8/01 1:36:18 pm)
    As a dustoff pilot I was classified as a medic. I'm not sure of the exactness of the real medic's formal training but I can tell you that every pilot assigned to a medical unit during Vietnam had to attend the AMMED course at Fort Sam Houston, Texas. It was an intensive course covering pretty much most all medical aspects with an emphasis on medical trauma. I was surprised at the depth of the course and the relative knowledge gained following the course. Of course, the test really came during the next year in Vietnam. I've said before and say again that the abilities of our medics aboard dustoff helicopters far surpassed my best expectations. And I would have to say in all honesty that the quality of our medics was better than the quality of most Vietnamese doctors and nurses.

gene29223
    (5/9/01 9:06:33 am)