more questions on reblueing

Discussion in 'Technical Questions & Information' started by budmorris, Apr 21, 2009.

1. budmorris

budmorris New Member

I have a colt model 1911 manufactured in 1913 that I inherited and it has initials etched in the slide. I'm embarassed enough by this that I want to try and polish out the initials and reblue the result but I dont want to reblue the entire gun. I think I can polish out the initials with somevery fine rubber wheels that I use for polishing gold (I'm a dentist) but I've never tried this before and would appreciate any help anyone might offer especially regarding brand names of reblueing material etc. IMG_3236.jpg
    Thanks for any help you can give me>

2. RunningOnMT

RunningOnMT New Member

Just my opinion, but this is not the type piece you want to do a homemade reblue on. I'd take it to a gun smith that does rebluing and let them handle the job. It really wont be that expensive.

3. I must agree with ROMT on this one, Bud. What you have there could easily turn out to be a fine shooter. It would be well worth the cost to have the gun redone by a professional. I think you will be very pleasantly surprised at how it will turn out if professionally buffed and hot blued. If the barrel is in bad shape, a new one is easy to find.

4. Helix_FR

Helix_FR Active Member

and I second that. Cold bluing a gun like that will give you unexpected results that can also kill the value. Old 1911's of that era are very high dollar from a collecting standpoint. From the looks of the rest of the barrel and slide, it could use a professional job. Just a word of warning however, when calling around for a Smith to do it for you don't be surprised if they pass on the work. Pre war 1911's carry a hefty price tag. Many would be more than happy to do the work, some may think its too much of a liability. Good luck.

5. carver

carver Moderator Supporting Member