1. Bluesprings

Bluesprings New Member

I have been shooting traditional flint and percussion muzzleloaders for years. I have had most types of actions. The one I have seen but not handled is the Mowrey. My questions are: Is the action easy to work on and clean. Secondly is the barrel easy to remove and is part of the action the breech plug? I am a newbie but a 75 year old one. Thanks

grcsat, One Shot and howlnmad like this.
  2. howlnmad

howlnmad Old Guy Doing Things Moderator Supporting Member

I can't help with your question, but we have quite a few members that are experts on the subject, I'm sure they'll be along with all the answers.

Bluesprings and One Shot like this.

3. Grizzley1

Grizzley1 Well-Known Member

The Mowrey action is a side hammer box lock made of cast brass, to get to the insides there are two screws on the offhand side that hold an access plate, the action is threaded on to the barrel just like a tang or patent breech on other styles of muzzle loading rifles via internal threads cut into the barrel. I would suggest not removing it unless it is to repair some defect or to replace the barrel, the male threads on the action are of brass and you could possibly make the thing harder to time correctly to the action by taking it on and off for cleaning and such, or heaven forbid you cross thread it and strip those soft brass threads.

One Shot, grcsat and howlnmad like this.
  4. grcsat

grcsat Well-Known Member

There are several different types of Mowrey Rifles.

Which one are you asking about?

5. Bluesprings

Bluesprings New Member

Thanks you have answered the most important question. I had a Mowrey owner tell me that he used a bore snake to clean between shots for accuracy. Could not figure out how he was doing it. If I acquire one will stay with the old fashion way of cleaning the bore.

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 16, 2020
    grcsat and Grizzley1 like this.
  6. Grizzley1

Grizzley1 Well-Known Member