The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
hey everyone. this is my first post on this board and, as the title suggests, it is in regards to my desire to purchase not only my first 1911 but my first firearm. I was really wanting an R700 for a while but figured a handgun would see more rounds downrange and after i fired my first 1911 i am addicted.

here is where im at. first and foremost, im a resident of California. ive begun to realize over the last few weeks how tough it is to not only buy a firearm in this state, but also just find one that is legal. I was looking at the Springfield Range Officer--not legal, Taurus PT 1911--not legal, then a specific Sig--not legal. Another problem im having is that Im resigned to the fact that I wont be able to feel in my hand any 1911's before i purchase. there simply are no guns out here--nor any ammo.

my budget a week or two ago was about 800. So if i cant have the springer RO i was looking at the Mil-spec and figured that if everyone says its a great project gun, that i can build it up how i like, or just keep it the way it is. but then i saw its price tag at right around 800, about 200 more than it was going for a couple years ago. AND, a colt mark IV series 80 in brushed stainless is up for just over 1k. hence my dilemma.

my questions:
1) im okay with paying more. a mil-spec for 800? or a colt series 80 for 1k?
2) once this guns/ammo frenzy dies down, will the value considerably drop? i saw online that people were buying colts for 700-800 a couple years ago.
3) all im looking for is an accurate and reliable 1911. one that i can take to the range, and get comfortable taking apart, cleaning, and putting back together.

what draws me to the mil-spec is the same that draws me to the Colt. no front slide serrations, and a classic look. I want a company thats been building 1911's for a while and is reliable. any thoughts???