The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, i'm new to reloading and have been having a problem. I am using the lee classic loader in 45 acp and every completed round when i try to chamber it the bullet gets set back in the case a lot and i'm not sure how to correct the problem any advice would be appreciated. thanks

·
Registered
7,762 Posts
Welcome to the joys of reloading.
If the flare was set to big and the tension is light, the bullet will seat back when it strikes the feed ramp. Make a test round from a full length sized case (no primer or powder). Then try giving just enough flaring of the case just enough so when you snug place the bullet with your fingers and invert the bullet in the case, it will not fall out with light shaking. Then seat the bullet with your seater. Then use your fcd to provide just enough of a taper crimp to remove that flare edging (somewhere between 1/4 to less than 1/2 turn on the fcd adjusting stem). The bullet should now stay in place as you have finished off the necessary tension to keep it in place.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
the problem is i am not using a press setup its just a basic hand kit and i don't have a fcd or much in the way of loading equipment

·
Premium Member
3,849 Posts
what hand kit are you using? the kit should have a crimper with it, maybe you just need to tap that crimper a little harder?

·
Premium Member
11,604 Posts
I assume that's what a lot of us know as the "whack-a-mole"? Boy...it's been a looooooong time since I used one, very late 60's or maybe the earliest 70's but, I want to remember hunter29180 is on the right track.

·
Registered
346 Posts