New to reloading and need some advice.

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Thatreloadinguy, Sep 16, 2020 at 12:41 AM.

Lee Precision Auto Drum Powder measure worth the money?

1. Yes

62.5%
  2. No

37.5%
  1. Thatreloadinguy

Thatreloadinguy New Member

My set up is a Lee turret the 4 hole variety. I am using the Lee Auto Drum powder measure and it is the most finnicky thing of the whole process. I have never loaded my own ammo. I have very little experience with loading. The dies I have set up are measuring out fine length and neck sizes. Bullet seating is fine and even primed about 10 cases first.
    This powder measure is locking up then I get it free and working and then it dumps so much powder it is all over the bench. I have the screw all the way in and it is still dumping an entire case of .223 plus enough to spill all over the bench. I took off the unit and checked it. threaded in the adjustment all the way in and it still dumps powder. ??? any help on this thing because I have spent about an hour with it and I want to use it for the next clay at a skeet shoot.

shootbrownelk likes this.
  2. noylj

noylj Well-Known Member

Never had any issue. Call Lee. Something is very wrong with the measure or your use of it.
    The measure works by aligning a cavity with the powder hopper so the hopper can fill the cavity, and then the cavity drum rotates down to the dispenser. The hopper and dispenser are never aligned are open to each other so powder can't drop straight through. So, unless there is missing piece or you assembled it wrong, there is no way that the measure could dispense a case full of powder if the cavity is set for 0 cc. Maybe the part that acts as the "base" of the metering assembly to control the cavity depth is missing? Inspect the drum/metering assembly.
    I can only suggest that you verify that the metering adjustment is NOT set for full open and is really set of zero cc.