The Firearms Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone. I've been shooting for about 26 years, since I was five years old. I'm just now getting into reloading, I've ordered my press (Dillon 550) and it should be here sometime in April. I'll be starting off reloading .40 and .45 ACP, eventually adding .357 Mag, .223/5.56, and maybe .44 Mag since I'd like to get a .44 eventually.

So far, I've started by doing a lot of reading (ABCs and Lymans 49th, along with a lot of internet reading, and Youtube watching), researching a couple loads I'd like to try out, and stocking up on components. I bought 500 Rainier .45 ACP bullets and 500 Berrys .40 bullets at Cabelas, ordered two pounds each of HS-6 and Titegroup from Midsouth, and found a guy selling primers locally and stocked up with 10k PMC small pistol primers. I found a guy selling brass that he scavenged and cleaned up, bought 1300 .40 at 3 cents a piece and 800 .45 at 4 cents a piece. I still need to get large pistol primers since 95% of my .45 brass requires it. I'd also like to get some Accurate #5 and #7 powders, but for the moment they're kinda hard to find, so I'll stick with what I've got.

Still on the to-do list is to build a bench and get some more storage stuff to get organized. The bench I'm planning to build is this one:

http://www.shotgunsportsmagazine.com/downloads/bench_plans.pdf

but just the bench, not the cabinet on top. I'll buy some plastic storage bins and such for the storage of different components.

Anyone have any suggestions or helpful tips for me? Anything you learned from experience when you were new to this that I might not get from a book or the Dillon setup DVD? Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
55 Posts