The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Premium Member
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am new to reloading and am using the hornady priming tool.I’m starting to get messed up primers when installing them. has any one else had problems with this tool or is it worn out already. It’s all plastic .
Thank you

·
Administrator
11,893 Posts
What brass are you using? I had an issue way back years ago when I knew nothing about crimped primer pockets. A pic of the primer pocket may be helpful.

·
Premium Member
12,280 Posts
I'm not familiar with the Hornady tool but, all plastic sends up all kinds of red flags to me.

·
Premium Member
7,769 Posts
I use the Hornady hand primer But the only plastic parts are the tray and cover.
Pictures of how you use it and the problems you are getting would help.
I’ve learned to hold mine a certain way to get the best results.
The two trays are also designated for the type of shell holder you are using and there are two pin sizes too.
Is it set up for what you are doing?

·
Premium Member
12,280 Posts
Well heck, that should work just fine. I couldn't really imagine one being ALL plastic.

·
Premium Member
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
What brass are you using? I had an issue way back years ago when I knew nothing about crimped primer pockets. A pic of the primer pocket may be helpful.
I am at work right now I will get pictures when I get home.Winchester and some that I picked up after shooting with friends.

·
GUNZILLA
6,439 Posts
If you are at work you should not be reading this. If the brass is for .223 or 5.56 for an AR or 7.62 NATO type ammo than your brass could have crimped primers which require removing the crimp from the primer pockets with a swaging tool or a primer pocket reamer.

·
Super Moderator
26,841 Posts
Post up some pics of the problem when you can. Then we can better help you with your problem.

Reactions: BlackEagle

·
Premium Member
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #10