The Firearms Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I'm new to reloading and to this Forum. I'm so new to reloading that I don't even have my reloader yet it's on back order. Can't wait for it to get here.

My first question is are the dies from other companies compitable with each other? I purchased a Lee and haven't been able to find the answer to this question on the yet.

My other question is I plan on reloading for my 30-30 and would like to try out the new leverolution round do you need a differant die to seat the differant type of bullet?

·
Registered
18,138 Posts
Most dies are all threaded 7/8 x 14, and will fit any reloading press. Some of the older (and I mean the 50s and before) equipment used proprietary threads, but it's very unlikely you will come across any of them. Lyman makes a hand-reloader called the "310 Tong Tool", which uses a smaller set of dies. They also used to make a press (I don't know if it is still being made) that used that small set. But all their other stuff uses standard 7/8 x 14.

You won't need a different die, but you may need a different bullet-seater plug. That piece is replaceable in a seating die, and comes in different "nose profiles", for seating round nose or wadcutter or pointed, so you don't mess up the bullet nose. Since 30/30 is normally loaded with a round or flat nosed bullet, and the leverlution is a pointed bullet, it is possible that the standard seating plug will damage it. I don't know, having never loaded those bullets.

If it does cause any nose damage, just order a 308 Winchester seating plug. Since this cartridge is normally loaded with a pointed bullet, the seating plug will have that profile, and any 30 caliber plug will fit into the die body, as long as they are from the same manufacturer (a Lyman plug won't fit into a Lee die, for example).

But I would not bother with ordering a replacement plug until I tried it and found that it DID cause damage.

·