The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok, i am totally new to reloading. just got a s&w sd 40. at the cost of ammo, i will be looking into reloading. what do i need to get to reloading .40s&w ammo?

·
Super Moderator
41,340 Posts
Start out by reading the last sticky above. If you are already loading some ammo, then you should already have a manual and a press. You will need dies, bullets, brass, powder, and primers. If you have never reloaded before, then you need to add a press, scales, and some (more than one) reloading manuals. There are dozens of other thing that you might possibly need or want. The absolute first thing is the MANUALS and read them!!

·
Registered
1,325 Posts
Step one is a solid reloading manual, the Lyman 49th would be my suggestion. Read it and then research equipment, I dont recommend .40 as a first cartrige, not impossible per se, just requires a tad more attention.

·
Registered
1,274 Posts
Step one is a solid reloading manual, the Lyman 49th would be my suggestion. Read it and then research equipment, I dont recommend .40 as a first cartrige, not impossible per se, just requires a tad more attention.
Why is that? is it because its the same dies as 10mm??

·
Registered
36 Posts
dont get just one manual get another at minimum and keep getting them. im a noob too and manuals make shopping easier.

trays
bullet puller
manual
scale
lube
calipers
die (of course)
shell holder (if needed)
another manual (definetly)
powder
bullet
primer
shell
dont go shopping til you make a list ( a must)
and of course another manual!!!!

·
Registered
2,685 Posts
Why is that? is it because its the same dies as 10mm??