The Firearms Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everybody, so the biggest reason for me joining this forum is to try and get some help/ advise regarding my AR-15, a little backstory, the guns 3 years old, my father and I built it but never took it out, finally yesterday I broke it in, now during this process, I was having some weird jamming issues, it wasn't jamming every time it cycled, sometimes it would jam after a few rounds, sometimes it would jam after a whole 30rnd mag, or it would jam simply by closing the bolt from putting a new mag in. so after searching through youtube and other forums here, I am, ill try my best to break it down as simply as I can because I am not a gunsmith nor that great with these, this is my first build.

'I also didn't take any of the spent casing back home with me. I didn't know i should've until I came home and did some homework'

TL;DR a lot of brass transfer on the internals of the rifle, I'm thinking possibly my extractor head is ripping the casings out improperly.
01.jpg
so picture one, this is what the jam looks like every time, it doesnt fully go into battery, trying to pull it back with the charging handle never worked, nor pushing in the forward assist, the only thing that cleared this jam was separating the upper and lower receivers and pushing the back of the bolt into the chamber, after that, the charging handle still wouldn't pull it out so we had to pull the hammer back, put the receivers back into place and then fire the round. "I know it's not the safest option but that's why we went into the middle of nowhere" plus I think it's odd to have that much scoring onto the shell deflector? we shot about 100 rounds. 'again this is my first build, I thought the random jamming was just because it needed to be broken in'
02.jpg