The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I’m kinda new to reloading and I have only used Lee dies and RCBS dies. I was at my local gun store and stumbled across a old set of 7x57 dies made by Lyman. I picked them up for $15 cause this is the next round I want to load. I was wondering if any one has used old lyman dies and could tell me if they are any good or not?

·
Registered
17,383 Posts
They should be fine, unless they've been abused.

I started reloading in 1976. What's that - 43 years? I'm still using that first set of 38 Special dies.

Dies can be damaged by stupidity. But as a rule, they don't wear out.

The only problem with OLD dies - like maybe from the 60s or earlier - is they might not fit modern presses.

All dies, and all presses, these days, have a 7/8 by 14 thread, and the ram has what they call a universal fit, so anybody's shell holder will snap in. But WAY WAY BACK, many of the reloading companies had proprietary dies, that would only work with their presses.

·
Premium Member
14,041 Posts
I'm still using a couple sets of dies from the 50's. As has been said, unless they've been abused or horribly neglected, they should be fine, after a good cleaning.

·
Registered
10,066 Posts
Do inspect the dies cavities for rust. I see old dies at gun shows and a high percentage of them have surface rust on them. Where that is bad is on the internal working surfaces where removal of the rust may screw with the precision of the die and its ability to make compatible ammo.