The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Fairly new into the firearm scene less than a year with firearm experience. I'm on my 2nd AR build (first build was 10.5in 556 build) My first build was fun and I was very happy with it that I wanted to build another. Building a 9mm glock fed magwell to compliment my newly bought glock 19.

So far I'm working on my lower (side folding AR platform 9mm glock fed). I just recently came back from the gunshop to purchase my brace, buffer tube, and spring (my 80% lower already came with a buffer, so I figured that there would be no reason to buy another buffer). Since I'm still new to the game I asked for help from the employee working there, he was very helpful and showed me to the parts I asked for. I saw a strike industries brace that caught my eye, so I picked that up, then I asked the worker what kind of tube can I get to fit this as it does not look like a standard mil-spec tube....

He then hands me a tube "SB Tactical OPNT Open Pistol Buffer Tube" and says this will work. I went with whatever he gave me, not looking at what it was (figured he knew what he was giving me since he works there).

So as I get home, I noticed that there was a giant hole at the end of my tube. As for what I knew from my previous AR build, there shouldn't be a hole at the end, where does my buffer spring and buffer go? If I put it in wouldn't it just come out the other end?

Sorry if the question seems stupid, but someone please help. Did I buy the wrong tube? Or is this something new/different that i'm not getting because its an AR 9mm build?

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
25,701 Posts
It's a proprietary tube to work with their brace. It's open ended because it's non functional. It's designed to be used with a blowback/piston system.

·
Super Moderator
25,701 Posts