Original (old) Kentucky and Plains type rifles.

Discussion in 'Curio & Relics Forum' started by cointoss2, Mar 4, 2003.

1. cointoss2

cointoss2 Guest

astute observer
    (12/5/02 11:06:21 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del All Original (old) Kentucky and Plains type rifles.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I just stumbled across this forum, quite by accident! I am a collector (a very serious one!) of percussion rifles and other guns by Upper Midwestern makers. I am also a published author on the subject...of both books and magazine articles.

If anyone has any questions about makers or identifying guns, I would be glad to help. I cannot guarantee that I will have an answer in every case, but have pretty fair overall knowledge as well as lot's of reference material (some from unpublished sources). C J

TallTLynn
    *TFF Senior Staff*
    (12/5/02 11:12:39 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del
    ezSupporter
    Re: Original (old) Kentucky and Plains type rifles.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    astute observer - very nice to meet you!

If you look down a few more forums here you'll find one for blackpowder - look forward to hearing more from you!

I'd love to find an original Kentucky flintlock - chances are rare that I will and even if I did could never afford one. But love looking at them.

astute observer
    (12/5/02 11:24:57 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del Re: Original (old) Kentucky and Plains type rifles.
    Thanks for the welcome, Lynn! I had already looked at the black powder forum. It appears to be geared more toward replicas and shooting black powder guns than toward collecting the old ones. I will, however, post there also!

TallTLynn
    *TFF Senior Staff*
    (12/5/02 11:33:58 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del
    ezSupporter
    astute - as I said if I could afford an original I'd have one - but right now I'll settle for what I can get.