The Firearms Forum banner

Plan on buying Hornady LNL AP Press Tomorrow, What brand dies do I need for Smith & Wesson 500

2K views 13 replies 5 participants last post by  DeputyDog25 
#1 ·
I am a Newbie to reloading, just doing online searching looking at presses and videos. Have decided I want the Hornady press. I have a Smith & wesson 500 and when i was at Cabela's looking today I didn't even see bullets or dies for the 500. all they had casings. Does Hornady make a 500 die, or would it be 50 cal?

#3 ·
Yes, Hornady has S&W 500 dies, p/n 546585. You may need to order those online if you can't find them locally. Try Midway USA, Paf & Sons, or Mid South to name a few.

Pick up a copy of Lyman's 47th reloading Manual, the front section has excellent instructional content. Reference Highboy's excellent videos as necessary.

Be patient and go slow on your LNL press. I have one too and I'm very happy with it. I started out on a SS press in my early teen years and it still took a bit to get the progressive press humming.

Welcome to the forum. There are some real experts here with much wisdom who are extremely helpful.

#7 ·
Thanks. I have another question being a Newbie. I plan on using new brass for the 500 to begin with. Maybe load 50 - a 100 in a fast load with 300 grain then a thumper in 500 grain. After that I shoot through some of these then I will reload. So using new brass will I need to leave out the primer die and just prime, charge and seat the bullet? Will the die harm the new casings or would it be good to go ahead and set up the dies for re loading later? thanks!

#8 ·

I always run "new" brass through my resizer (what you are calling primer die). Even though you are not depriming, you still need to resize. Setup all of your dies, the only thing you are not doing with new brass is popping out the old primer.