The Firearms Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been doing some research on reloading brass. I have been leaning towards a dillon 650 press. I have been reloading shotgun shells for five years on a mec 9000g with automate. I load around 15K shells per year so I am quite familiar with the process. The pressures are quite a bit higher on the brass and I am wondering how accurate the powder drops have to be and if the dillon powder dispensers are that accurate. I know from loading with the mec that different powders drop differently and none of them will drop the exact amount every time. In my shotgun shells the powder drop will vary +/- .3 of a grain one way or the other on an average. Do the powder drops vary when loading brass? If so, how much of a variance is allowed or considered safe when loading brass?

·
Registered
502 Posts
I've been using a 650 with Dillon powder measures for 17 - 18 years now.

The accuracy of the measure depends on what powder one uses. With ball or spherical powders like WW231, 2400 and such, I get a variance of =/- .10 grains during the initial set up and shake down, then it usually drops to less during production.

For rifles, I use IMR 4895 a bit in several cartridges. In .308 Winchester loads, I will get repeatable throws of .5 grains variance or less. In a 40 grain charge, that's just over 1% variation and it doesn't seem to give me any problems. With ball powders, the variation is negligible.

Unique is one of the harder powders to meter, as it is flake shaped and does not 'flow' like smaller ball type pieces 'flow'. Still, I find good repeated charges, usually less than .2 grains. Since I seldom run 'maximum' loads with Unique, the accuracy is consistent and I don't have any problems with overcharge loads. That is in the 3% range and seems to be tolerable.