The Firearms Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
251 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Lyman electronic powder scale and a Lee balance beam mechanical scale. I have zeroed both numerous times and checked and rechecked loads and there is a consistant 1/2 grain difference between the two. The Lee mechanical always seems to measure less. Which do I trust? This is my first time with an electronic scale so I wanted to be sure of the charge as I am loading to the safe max level in my 45-70, using IMR 3031. The bench is level as once balanced I do not move the scale around.

I appreciate any and all advice.

Neverhome

·
Super Moderator
44,789 Posts
The scale should have come with a couple of check weights, if you can't find them or it did not come with any, then the set that rcairflr shows will be the way to go.

·
Registered
251 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks Gentlemen,

I do have a check weight for the Lyman and zero the scale after every charge, re calibrating every five loads. I crossed checked each load with the Lee balance scale and that is where the discrepancy occurs. Each time the same weights, just off a half grain between the two scales. I should be safe as the Lee reads below the Lyman. Just bugs me that they don't match.

Neverhome

·
Registered
18,740 Posts
i have a lyman digital, and an rcbs 505 beam scale. I get as much as .1gr difference.

If you have ac or a fan inthe room, turn it off.. it effects ballance bean scales quite dramatically.

temp effects the digital scales..and so do batteries.. I reccomend running the digital scal on line power.. and turn it on 15m before use.

check 0 on both scales at start and then 5 laods in.. my first 5 loads I test on both scales.. then I use the ballance scale as a 5th then 10th load test. once I get a tray loaded I usually randomly pick a cartridge and dump it and read it's charge, then recharge if ok.