Question about Mauser HSc 7.65mm

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by rickysanchez, Apr 17, 2009.

1. rickysanchez

rickysanchez New Member

Hey all,

I'm new to the forum, but I am working on a fictional case for a Trial Class in Law School and had a question. The defendant in my case used a Mauser-Werke HSc 7.65 mm pistol to shoot his victim. The question is over whether it was accidental or not.

My question involves chambering a round and the hammer of the gun. I am relatively new to guns (which you can probably tell), but my question is when you chamber a round by pulling back on the slide which cocks the hammer, are you able to manually un-cock the gun yet keep the round in the chamber? T

he reason I ask is because the defendant shot the victim yet claims she grabbed his gun and he disarms her and accidentally shoots her. He claims she cocked the gun and turned the safety off before he accidentally pulled the trigger while the gun was in the air. In this hypothetical, he is a former police officer who had this as his personal gun. If his claims are perhaps true, am I correct in saying he would have had to have chambered a round and then manually un-cocked the gun only for her to re-cock the gun later? If that doesn't make sense I can try to rephrase. Any help is much appreciated.

2. Popgunner

Popgunner Active Member

Hi Ricky
    The gun-HSc Mauser pistol is self cocking (that's what the HS part stands for in german). A more common term is "double action". This would be the same action as a police revolver. You would pick it up & if you pulled the trigger it would shoot. This is assuming there was a round in the chamber. There is not to my knowledge a way to "uncock" this gun. The gun cocks it's self as you pull the trigger. If he was familiar with this gun he was guilty of murder:eek:

Last edited: Apr 18, 2009

3. rickysanchez

rickysanchez New Member