Question about wads for cap and ball revolvers

Discussion in 'Black Powder Shooting / Muzzleloaders / Handguns' started by beastybaconman, Oct 31, 2014.

1. beastybaconman

beastybaconman Member

I'm new to cap and ball revolvers and I was just wondering if I need to use a wad or lube when I shoot my gun. I know you're supposed to use them to prevent chain fire, but if the ball is slightly oversize and shaves a ring of lead when it's loaded, shouldn't that seal the chamber good enough to keep sparks from getting in? I only ask because I don't have wads right now and I'd like to take a few shots. I do plan on making some wads once I get some felt, but do I have to lube the wads or can I just use dry ones?

north tex likes this.
  2. gdmoody

gdmoody Full Time Moderator Moderator Supporting Member

I recommend that you buy a can of Crisco shortening (if they still sell the stuff). After you press the ball into the chamber, just put a finger full of Crisco on top of the ball to prevent the chain fire. It costs a whole lot less than the wads and "name brand" lube and does the same thing. I never used any kind of wads when I shot my BP revolver.

3. jim brady

jim brady Well-Known Member

Wads and lube. I used those pre-packaged felt wads. Maybe I was over-doing it, but I also used lube to seal off the chambers. You don't NEED those wads, but you can and I did.

As far as lube goes, I highly recommend it. You will find that when shooting a black powder six-shooter, the fired black powder propellant ends up EVERYWHERE. It will cause you revolver to bind-up. Lube - all from plain old Crisco to the fancy lubes for blackpowder that you can buy - help to keep that black powder residue soft on the cylinder pin and all of the working parts while you shoot.

I never had a 'chain fire', but again I always used lube to seal the chambers. From what I hear, it's not an experiance you will want to seek out.