The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the forum and 76Highboy recommended I join for solid reloading info from folks with extensive experience and knowledge. Quick question-I'm new to reloading and have been looking at the RCBS and Dillon CM500 Case Media separators. I like the lid on the RCBS, but the Dillon seems better constructed.

Anyone have experience with both and what was your experience with them? Also, if you own the Dillon any tips on keeping the dust down?

Your feedback is appreciated.

·
Registered
2,714 Posts
Hey JB, welcome to the forum and our condolences for knowing Highboy. :D ;)

I dont have any experience with reloading, but from looking at the pictures, the dillon does look stouter. If you end up getting that, a wire frame with a cloth might suffice to enclose it. It wouldnt be as good as the lid. I dont know how much dust you would have with these, but I wouldnt think it would be a dig deal unless you were turning it pretty fast.

Hopefully somebody will come along soon with something actually useful rather than just making something up. :p

Again, welcome to the forum.

·
Super Moderator
41,422 Posts
Welcome to TFF and as far as knowing Highboy, don't say it too loud.

Just kidding.

Go to your nearest wally world, go over to the housewares department, and buy yourself a $3.00 plastic colander with a lid. That is exactly what I use, it does the same thing as the RCBS or Dillon and when it breaks, go spend another three bucks. I have been using the same colander for 4 or 5 years. I just drilled the small holes out to 3/8 inch so it would drain the media faster.

·
Registered
18,207 Posts
Its a media separator. Its really doesn't need to be heavily constructed to work well and last years. I like the frankford arsenal because it sits over a standard 5 gallon bucket. But any of the others would suit you well. All of them have been used for decades without fail.

·
Premium Member