The Firearms Forum banner
  • Hello Everyone! Let us know what you would spend a $50 Amazon gift card on, HERE For a chance to win a $50 Amazon Gift Card!
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here -

This was my grandfather's rifle in WWII. Smith Corona 1903A3, S/N 3600000 series, May 1943 production run.
Wood Hardwood Gun accessory Musical instrument Wood stain

It's got an interesting sight on it that I haven't seen elsewhere, but I don't know anything much about the 1903A3 really.

Personal protective equipment Trigger Gun accessory Gas Auto part
Bicycle part Gun accessory Machine Auto part Tool

At first I thought it was missing an upper band because the exposed white didn't look right, but I'm not sure.
Material property Office equipment Gun accessory Gas Electric blue

Bolt action is smooth as butter. Thing hasn't been fired in decades and just needed a basic cleaning and some grease.

But I'd like to get it more serviceable. Upper band is kind of loose and the screw looks dubious... will probably replace it. Will order a sling, but that's no big deal. I've never refurbished an old rifle. Given the pictures, what more would you all do?

·
Registered
9,119 Posts
The rear sight has been replaced with an after-market sporting peep sight. The original rear sight on the 1903A3 was also a peep sight, but it mounted into a dovetail slot on the rear of the receiver bridge. I cannot tell by the photos, but I'm guessing that the dove tail base was milled off.

I cannot see the maker's mark on that rear sight. I'm guessing that it is a Lyman rear sight. Those were mounted by drilling and tapping two holes into the right side of the receiver. These sights were a popular sight for hunting rifles in the 50s and 60s.