The Firearms Forum banner

Reloading

3K views 37 replies 16 participants last post by  mikld 
#1 ·
I'm new to reloading, though I've been shooting for some time. I currently shoot a ruger American 30-06 compact rifle. Looking to find some of the better bullets to shoot, and approximate powider load for the utmost accruacy.

#3 ·
Welcome! I can second what Firpo asked.The ABC's of reloading and maybe one of the Lyman books like the 48th or 49th version are a must have.I don't have the new 50th version Lyman book but I expect it would serve you well.I bought and read 2 books a couple of years before I bought any reloading gear.Not sure if you've already done this or not.

#5 ·
A question like this always perplexes me. With 3 or 4 loading manuals and a common cartridge like the '06 a person has before them enough combinations to keep them busy for a few years seeking the best load. Each and every rifle is an entity unto itself. What works best in one can be dismal at best in another of the same make, model and cartridge. Only way to actually know is to try loads.

To choose a starting point one needs to first decide the intended use of the load and define parameters a bit better than "utmost accuracy". Utmost accuracy with a match bullet is probably going to differ from utmost accuracy with a good game bullet. Perhaps not at closer ranges but somewhere down range there will be a difference.

#6 ·
Are you going for game or target?

I started reloading a little over a year ago. My second batch was 30-06. I was looking for a good long distance round and not necessarily a hunting round. After much research went with 168 gr.

http://www.hornady.com/store/30-Cal-.308-168-gr-A-MAX/

Hornady manual and ladder test for load.

#7 ·
Welcome aboard! It seems that your question opened up a can of worms!:D As well it should! Read the post made so for, and understand them. They have all given you some good advice! Tell us more about what your intended loads will be used for.

#8 ·