The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a used 700 SPS w/a SS barrel, in .25-06, last year and started reloading for it.
I checked jam length w/a 100gr Nosler BT bullet I have been using for many years, and was getting some varying jams as per my comparator.
I checked the most conservative jam length and then seated bullets .020" less than this length. I was seeing some high pressure signs, and the bottom 1/2" of one of the cases separated, which is odd because I use 52.0gr H4831 + a 100gr Nosler BT, in my other .25s, and it's a pussy cat load.
As a sanity check last spring, I bought a box of factory ammo, and it wouldn't chamber. I could not close the bolt.
Then: dropped it off at the gunsmith, who scoped the chamber and throat, and found an obstruction inside the throat, that he described as "a single land that extended rearward into the throat, in the 6 o'clock position."
A chamber reamer, gently used to take out the "land," took care of the obstruction. Afterwards, all ammo chambered and fired w/o incident.
Q: How are barrels made, and how is it possible that a single "land" be present, or be manufactured into the throat of the chamber?

·
Registered
4,899 Posts
If all the lands did, I could tell you, but one land? That's one I've never seen! Not a surprise coming from Remington though. I've seen some bore scope video, on out of the box new 700 rifles that would make you cringe.

·
Registered
10,283 Posts
I make custom barrels for a living, there isn't enough room in a post to explain all of the different ways to make a barrel. I can say that there is no way I know of to rifle a bore that will leave a single land in the chamber. Something went wrong when they cut the chamber and QC did not reject the flawed barrel.

·
Super Moderator
11,411 Posts
Quote .....I bought a used 700 SPS w/a SS barrel.

Quite possible "unfired" since no one could chamber a round.

·
Registered
2,629 Posts