Remington 870 Accessories

Discussion in 'Large-Bore/Small-Bore Rifle/Shotgun' started by johnlives4christ, Apr 5, 2009.

1. johnlives4christ

johnlives4christ Former Guest

i have a remington 870 wingmaster. it has a 20 inch barrel. it is standard all the way around. wood stock. regular magazine. bead sight.

i have considered all the differant options of things i could "do" to her and was wondering what suggestions anyone would make to an accessory upgrade or just leave it alone like i have been.

im considering a pachmayr pistol grip, or a mag extension (wilson)

any ideas?

2. TranterUK

TranterUK Guest

I have a suggestion, stick with it exactly as it is. Whether for sporting or defence use it is in my opinion better left alone. Why? Well sporting goes without saying, the flat forend and solid stock are perfect for quick handling and hunting shots. For defence I dont like pistol grips, the main reason given is to shorten the overall length, but thats not by much and In my opinion what you loose is much more. The full stock not only allows quick aimed shots, but can be tucked under the arm for stable hip shooting (very close range) and also makes the gun into a good hand to hand weapon, poking with the muzzle, bayonet fashion and swinging the stock out as a club. Just my 2c.

Ps Magazine extensions are great. No question there in my mind.

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 5, 2009

3. sabashimon

sabashimon New Member

+1 on everything Tranter said.
    For add-on's, stick to the mag extension, and possibly a side saddle to hold extra rounds.....although that will definately add weight that you may or may not consider worth the trade-off.

4. SARG

SARG Member

I have to agree with the advice already given..... plus leaving the stock allows the gun to sit nicely behind a door. Mine has a tubular cloth cover for dust and disguise.

5. RunningOnMT

RunningOnMT New Member