The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
332 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have a Remington model 514 barrel which I want to use in restoring a Remington model 514 rifle.

The barrel is generally in good shape (has good bore with well definded rifling) but needs to have the exterior re-blued.

Problem is that there is a VERY (about 1/8" long) small gash/nick in the metal about 2 inches behind the muzzle (not deep enough to hurt the integrity of the barrel) which is too deep to sand out without flat spotting the barrel (this is an actual small cut in the metal and not pitting created by rust). Someone has struck the barrel with or on something in the past.

My question is, is there a way to FILL IN this gash with some type of metal (possibly by welding process) that will not create a problem with that spot being re-blued ?

Thanks.

Attachments

·
Registered
2,714 Posts
My guess would be no, but I have no experience or first hand knowledge to go from. Welding on the barrel will affect the temper of the barrel. Once welded, it would have to be ground or machined back smooth. One option though, since it is so close to the muzzle is to cut it off and have it recrowned. If that leaves you with enough barrel, that could be done.

·
Premium Member
9,589 Posts
If you want it to be re blued then that is tough.
Yes it could be tig welded but only by someone who is VERY good with a tig welder.
Solder will not blue.
So you could solder then duro coat(paint) or nickel it.
But Helix would be the one to ask about that.
Mike

·
Registered
1,099 Posts
I have done at least a dozen MIG welds on guns and see no problem with doing a small weld on a .22 barrel. After a skilful weld it can be cleaned up with a file, then abrasive papers in finer & finer grits till it is ready to be prepped with the rest of the barrel for bluing.