Residence vs Property Owner vs Shooting

Discussion in 'General Firearms Discussion' started by drymag, Jul 18, 2020.

1. drymag

drymag Well-Known Member

I am a Washington state resident, but I own property in Wyoming that abuts national forestry to the north. Can I shoot on my own property aiming north (as long as I put up a backstop since the trees block the visibility?

2. shootbrownelk

shootbrownelk Well-Known Member

I don't see why not. Go for it.

2A-Jay, drymag, flboots and 1 other person like this.

3. tuckerd1

tuckerd1 Administrator Staff Member Administrator Moderator Supporting Member

What does the NF have to do with it? Can't you shoot on your own property?

4. gdmoody

gdmoody Full Time Moderator Moderator Supporting Member

5. Alaska444

Alaska444 Well-Known Member

You should be able to do that in Wyoming as long as it is safe to do so. You may want to check and make sure you are not part of an incorporated town limit that could prohibit shooting, most do. Also, place appropriate warning signs and no trespassing signs on your property limits. You will need to be very careful who you let use the range and should discuss with your insurer what they would or would not cover.

Just like owning a swimming pool places increased liability issues with property owners, your own range would I suspect encumber those same sort of liability issues and perhaps even more so.

Nevertheless, I have always wanted a little piece of property where I could set up my own range. I guess in another lifetime especially now that property values in Northern Idaho are out of this world. My wife and I by God's grace just paid off our house mortgage over a month ago and putting away a that money from our monthly budget into savings. We toyed with the idea of getting a plot of land where we could hang out, camping and such as well as shooting, but the prices per acre have jumped through the moon the last 4-5 years.