Revolver wonderwads

Discussion in 'Black Powder Shooting / Muzzleloaders / Handguns' started by Driverdan, Mar 16, 2020.

1. Driverdan

Driverdan Well-Known Member

I just received my Uberti 1860 Colt, and look forward to test driving it. Since I am no expert on blackpowder revolvers (or much of anything else) I seek information. I purchased (from Dixie Gun Works) a bag of Wonderwads to seal the chambers and prevent chain firing. The Uberti owner manual does not mention wads, but says to use grease to seal chambers. (I did this on 1858 Remington and thought it to be messy). I ask, what are the opinions of those smarter than me on Wonderwads versus grease ?? Thanks...Dan

BlackEagle and tedwitt like this.
  2. flintlock

flintlock Well-Known Member

I used Wonderwads in my b.p. pistols, far more effective than filling the cylinder mouths with grease and a lot easier at cleaning time.

3. Grizzley1

Grizzley1 Well-Known Member

Personally, I'd rather use lubed wads than grease on the mouth of the cylinder. Far less messy and I've never had a chain fire with them. The only problem I can see with a pre lubed wad would be if you leave the pistol loaded for any length of time without an over powder card between the powder charge and the greased wad. I suspect the grease could dampen the charge over time. I've never left one loaded for longer than it takes me to get from the bench to the firing line and shoot it till it's empty again so I can't say for sure if leaving it loaded for a few days is going to kill the charge. :)

BlackEagle, tedwitt, Firpo and 2 others like this.
  4. sharps4590

sharps4590 Well-Known Member

They work just fine and as others have said, a lot less messy. Having said that, I used up the ones I bought 40 or more years ago and never replaced them or made my own....and I can't tell you why but, I went back to lube over the balls. It's as messy as it was before.

5. vassago

vassago Well-Known Member