The Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Apologies if I happen use any incorrect terminology or for any lack of knowledge regarding the platform. I am new to firearms in general.

Smith & Wesson M&P 15. Completely stock other than a BCM charging handle, and Magpul handguard. Since buying it early last year it’s seen about 400 rounds of Federal brass FMJ, no steel. I clean and oil after every use

Head out to do some plinking a couple weeks ago and about five rounds into the first mag and I’ve got a jam. One of the only malfunctions I’ve ever had with my rifle since purchasing it. There’s a round chambered, the bolt is almost all the way forward but not quite, charging handle won’t pull back, safety selector won’t go to safe. Drop the mag. Mortar the rifle a few times. The jam finally clears. The chambered round is released and is kind of bent. Discard the round. Rifle appears to be back in working order. Put the magazine back in, or try to, wont lock in the mag well. Mess with it, finally locks. Chamber a round, cycles fine for the first several rounds, then another jam. This one not as bad. Drop the mag. Clear the jam. I repeated this process through two magazines. Once again, I’ve never had any issue with this gun prior to that brutal jam.

Your thoughts on this are appreciated.

·
Super Moderator
41,332 Posts
My very first thought is "Magazine Problem" but you said you tried two different magazines. Second thought is cleanliness, but you said you clean after every firing. Third thought is - have you checked the gas block to see if it is tight!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
My very first thought is "Magazine Problem" but you said you tried two different magazines. Second thought is cleanliness, but you said you clean after every firing. Third thought is - have you checked the gas block to see if it is tight!