The Firearms Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good Day All,

I own a Rossi snub +/- 2" VRC 357 that I greatly enjoy. I can shoot full load 357 all day long without breaking my wrists and I think it has to do with the VRC. Further, I can be fairly accurate at 8 and even 10 meters.

However on the Internet there is not a lot of info on The Rossi VRC models and I mostly found info only on the 4" or 6".

I was wondering if somebody has some more detailed info on the VRC system - we know the principle of the gas pushing the barrel down to make it more steady when you fire. Bus as I am an engineer and always dig deeper into things and have a few questions and will appreciate any technical insight.

My problem is that many bullets tumble. I mostly reload and cast 158 Gr, also use CMJ and some factory ammo - they all do the same thing even a small 95 Gr bullets in 38 special.

Even though they tumble they remain quite accurate, which is puzzling to me (see target below).

By having the VRC the barrel is effectively only 1.2" long, as it then widens into the VRC area of the barrel. Can this short barrel (effectively +/- 1.2") cause the tumble?

When the bullet is in the VRC area of the barrel the gasses can pass all around the bullet but those on top can escape though the ports on top of the barrel and a decrease in pressure. In my mind this must cause the bullet to tumble because of uneven pressure around the bullet. Any comments on this?

If the system will cause the bullet to tumble - why do the make it? Why do I not read more about it on the internet?

Then of-course, can anybody suggest a solution to the tumble? I have tried for more than 2 years to change my loads in any direction possible.

I still enjoy this little 6 shooter tremendously and it carries very well, even better than my SIG P230

Good Shooting to you all!!

Attachments

·
Banned
2,001 Posts